Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Amy Sackville: Painter to the King

May 16 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm

£5 – £14.99

Join us at Golden Hare Books to explore the masterful third novel from phenomenal novelist Amy Sackville, who won the John Llewellyn Rhys and Somerset Maugham prizes and was longlisted for the Orange Prize

 

Painter to the King is a portrait of Diego Velázquez, from his arrival at the court of King Philip IV of Spain, to his death 38 years and scores of paintings later. It is a portrait of a relationship that is not quite a friendship, between an artist and his subject. It is a portrait of a ruler, always on duty, and increasingly burdened by a life of public expectation and repeated private grief. It is a portrait of a court collapsing under the weight of its own excess.

In the vein of Possession, Wolf Hall and Golden Hill, the hotly anticipated new novel from Amy Sackville combines the historical with a modern sensibility and philosophical insight. Unfolding through series of masterly set pieces and deft sketches, this is a novel of brilliance, imagination and sheer style – the reader will feel as though she has stepped right into the paintings themselves, and then, from a distance, will see them anew.

‘Amy Sackville has been known for the exquisite quality of her prose. With her third novel, she has tried something different, something more audacious, perhaps, and proves more than equal to the challenge. A work of great subtlety and sophistication’ Rupert Thomson

 

 

Amy Sackville was born in Plymouth in 1981. She has degrees from Leeds, Exeter College, Oxford, and Goldsmiths. Her first novel The Still Point was longlisted for the Orange Prize and won the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize and her second, Orkney, won the Somerset Maugham Award. She lives in London.

Details

Date:
May 16
Time:
6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Cost:
£5 – £14.99
Event Categories:
,

Organiser

Golden Hare Books
Phone:
0131 629 1396
Email:
mail@goldenharebooks.com
Website:
www.goldenharebooks.com

Venue

Golden Hare Books
68 St Stephen Street
Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH3 5AQ United Kingdom
+ Google Map
Phone:
0131 629 1396
Website:
www.goldenharebooks.com

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.