Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

The Library of Ice, Nancy Campbell

November 21 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm

£5 – £14.99

ggGolden Hare Books is delighted to welcome Nancy Campbell to the shop to discuss her time exploring Greenland and all things ice-related in this, her most recent book.

This is bound to be a brilliant event, so wrap up warm and come to the Library of Ice!

 

 

A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place for readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing.

Long captivated by the solid yet impermanent nature of ice, by its stark, rugged beauty, acclaimed poet and writer Nancy Campbell sets out from the world’s northernmost museum – at Upernavik in Greenland – to explore it in all its facets.

From the Bodleian Library archives to the traces left by the great polar expeditions, from remote Arctic settlements to the ice houses of Calcutta, she examines the impact of ice on our lives at a time when it is itself under threat from climate change.

The Library of Ice is a fascinating and beautifully rendered evocation of the interplay of people and their environment on a fragile planet, and of a writer’s quest to define the value of her work in a disappearing landscape.

 

 

 

Nancy Campbell is a poet, editor, writer and publisher. She is the author of the Forward Prize- shortlisted poetry collection Disko Bay and the illustrated book How to Say ‘I Love You’ In Greenlandic, and the creator of the live literature event Polar Tombola. She lives in Oxford.

Details

Date:
November 21
Time:
6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Cost:
£5 – £14.99
Event Categories:
,

Venue

Golden Hare Books
68 St Stephen Street
Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH3 5AQ United Kingdom
+ Google Map
Phone:
0131 629 1396
Website:
www.goldenharebooks.com

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.