Loading Events

Upcoming Events › Author Events

Events Search and Views Navigation

Find Events

Event Views Navigation

Events Search

November 2018

The Library of Ice, Nancy Campbell

November 21 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Golden Hare Books, 68 St Stephen Street
Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH3 5AQ United Kingdom
+ Google Map
£5 – £14.99 26 tickets left

ggGolden Hare Books is delighted to welcome Nancy Campbell to the shop to discuss her time exploring Greenland and all things ice-related in this, her most recent book. This is bound to be a brilliant event, so wrap up warm and come to the Library of Ice!     A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place for readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing. Long captivated…

Find out more »

Inventing Edward Lear with Sara Lodge

November 22 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Golden Hare Books, 68 St Stephen Street
Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH3 5AQ United Kingdom
+ Google Map
£5 – £23.95 20 tickets left

Join Sara Lodge at Golden Hare Books for a fascinating talk on the life and times of Edward Lear, poet, naturalist and extraordinary polymath of the Victorian Age. Lodge's new book, Inventing Edward Lear, contains newly discovered biographical material, and truly brings this remarkable man to life on the page.   “Inventing Edward Lear is an exceptional, valuable, original study, presenting new materials on aspects of Lear’s life and work.” —Jenny Uglow, author of Mr Lear and The Lunar Men Edward Lear wrote some of the…

Find out more »

Silver Cords: melding stories and music with Beerjacket

November 24 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Golden Hare Books, 68 St Stephen Street
Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH3 5AQ United Kingdom
+ Google Map
£5 – £15 30 tickets left

Golden Hare Books is delighted to announce this event in collaboration with Scottish Fiction Records to celebrate the release of Silver Cords, the long-awaited new album from Beerjacket. Silver Cords is being released as a hardback with CD, and Glasgow singer-songwriter Beerjacket (Peter Kelly) will be with us to perform music from the album and share stories about its creation. Silver Cords will nestle itself alongside your most intimate thoughts, shedding both encouraging light and honest shade. All the while, it conveys…

Find out more »

Marina Benjamin on Insomnia

November 28 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Golden Hare Books, 68 St Stephen Street
Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH3 5AQ United Kingdom
+ Google Map
£5 – £9.99 31 tickets left

Golden Hare Books is delighted to welcome Marina Benjamin, with her brilliant essay on that most-maligned of conditions, Insomnia. Come along, have a drink, and learn more about the intricacies of insomnia, and how it has formed a part of artistic life.       ‘A sublime view of the treasures and torments to be found in wakefulness. Entertaining and existential, the brightest star in this erudite, nocturnal reverie in search of lost sleep, is the beauty of the writing…

Find out more »

December 2018

Perfumes and Pages: Literary perfumes with Alex Musgrave

December 5 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Golden Hare Books, 68 St Stephen Street
Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH3 5AQ United Kingdom
+ Google Map
£5 29 tickets left

Come along to Golden Hare Books for a festive evening of perfumes and pages! Listen to perfume expert Alex Musgrave talk through his favourite literary perfumes, and the books which inspired them. There will be an opportunity to smell the perfumes, and to buy the books which inspired them, as well as a range of beautiful books about scent. This is the perfect event to get you into the festive spirit - so come along for a glamorous evening of…

Find out more »

We Love Bubbles! A sparkling evening with Davy Zyw

December 12 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Golden Hare Books, 68 St Stephen Street
Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH3 5AQ United Kingdom
+ Google Map
£5 – £18

We're fizzing over with excitement about this fun, festive event! Davy Zyw is a champagne aficionado, and he joins us at Golden Hare for a pre-Christmas evening sharing his love for and collection of champagne. He's written a definitive, authoritative and accessible guide to champagne and other sparkling wines, and the book fits perfectly with Edinburgh publisher Birlinn's 101 ... to Try Before You Die series. Containing advice, tasting notes and tips on where to find the best fizz available (whatever your…

Find out more »
+ Export Events