Loading Events

Upcoming Events › Bookshop Events

Events Search and Views Navigation

Find Events

Event Views Navigation

Events Search

October 2018

The Hoarder: an evening with Jess Kidd

October 23 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Golden Hare Books, 68 St Stephen Street
Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH3 5AQ United Kingdom
+ Google Map
£5 – £10 35 tickets left

Golden Hare Books is delighted to welcome Jess Kidd, for an evening of discussion of her novels, Himself and The Hoarder. Kidd's books are atmospheric, full of secrets, heart, and relationships, so come along and immerse yourself in her world. Come along, have a glass of wine, and listen to the brilliant Jess Kidd in conversation.   "This dark but comical tale of haunting and hoarding ensnares . . . imagination is vivid . . . Brilliant" (The Times) "A…

Find out more »

Strange Stars: David Bowie, Pop Music and the Decade Sci-Fi Exploded

October 29 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Golden Hare Books, 68 St Stephen Street
Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH3 5AQ United Kingdom
+ Google Map
£5 – £20 34 tickets left

Golden Hare Books is delighted to welcome Jason Heller to launch his new book, Strange Stars, exploring David Bowie and the rise of science fiction. Come along for an evening that will be out of this world!     As the 1960s drew to a close, and mankind trained its telescopes on other worlds, old conventions gave way to a new kind of hedonistic freedom that celebrated sex, drugs, and rock ’n’ roll. Derided as nerdy or dismissed as fluff, science fiction rarely…

Find out more »

November 2018

The Readers’ Salon

November 5 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Golden Hare Books, 68 St Stephen Street
Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH3 5AQ United Kingdom
+ Google Map

Want to engage more with your own reading and to share favourites with like-minded readers? Love the idea of a book group but don’t like being assigned a particular book? Or do you just want more opportunities to talk books? Whatever the reason, we have just the group for you! Join us on the first Monday of every month as we chat all things bookish. It's free to come along and no booking is required - just turn up! We'll…

Find out more »

The Life of Truman Capote: Swan Song, with Kelleigh Greenberg-Jephcott

November 6 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Golden Hare Books, 68 St Stephen Street
Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH3 5AQ United Kingdom
+ Google Map
£5 – £12.99 33 tickets left

Join Kelleigh Greenberg-Jephcott at Golden Hare Books for a glamorous and fascinating talk on the rise and fall of Truman Capote! Come and have a glass of wine, and learn more about the man behind the literary giant.   Swan Song is a dazzling literary debut about the rise and self-destructive fall of Truman Capote and the beautiful, wealthy, vulnerable women he called his swans. ‘Writers write. And one can’t be surprised if they write what they know.’ Compulsively readable,Swan Song is…

Find out more »

Beowulf Refigured: The Mere Wife by Maria Dahvana Headley

November 8 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Golden Hare Books, 68 St Stephen Street
Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH3 5AQ United Kingdom
+ Google Map
£5 – £12.99 35 tickets left

Golden Hare Books is delighted to welcome Maria Dahvana Headley to discuss her new novel, The Mere Wife, a fierce, feminist retelling of Beowulf. Join us for a glass of wine and to discuss how this classic has been reworked.     ‘Smart, tough, modern.’ — Margaret Atwood ‘Maria Dahvana Headley is a firecracker: she’s whip- smart with a heart, and she writes like a dream.’ — Neil Gaiman To those who live there, Herot Hall is a paradise. With…

Find out more »

The Library of Ice, Nancy Campbell

November 21 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Golden Hare Books, 68 St Stephen Street
Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH3 5AQ United Kingdom
+ Google Map
£5 – £14.99 31 tickets left

ggGolden Hare Books is delighted to welcome Nancy Campbell to the shop to discuss her time exploring Greenland and all things ice-related in this, her most recent book. This is bound to be a brilliant event, so wrap up warm and come to the Library of Ice!     A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place for readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing. Long captivated…

Find out more »

Inventing Edward Lear with Sara Lodge

November 22 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Golden Hare Books, 68 St Stephen Street
Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH3 5AQ United Kingdom
+ Google Map
£5 – £23.95 26 tickets left

Join Sara Lodge at Golden Hare Books for a fascinating talk on the life and times of Edward Lear, poet, naturalist and extraordinary polymath of the Victorian Age. Lodge's new book, Inventing Edward Lear, contains newly discovered biographical material, and truly brings this remarkable man to life on the page.   “Inventing Edward Lear is an exceptional, valuable, original study, presenting new materials on aspects of Lear’s life and work.” —Jenny Uglow, author of Mr Lear and The Lunar Men Edward Lear wrote some of the…

Find out more »

Marina Benjamin on Insomnia

November 28 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Golden Hare Books, 68 St Stephen Street
Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH3 5AQ United Kingdom
+ Google Map
£5 – £9.99 33 tickets left

Golden Hare Books is delighted to welcome Marina Benjamin, with her brilliant essay on that most-maligned of conditions, Insomnia. Come along, have a drink, and learn more about the intricacies of insomnia, and how it has formed a part of artistic life.       ‘A sublime view of the treasures and torments to be found in wakefulness. Entertaining and existential, the brightest star in this erudite, nocturnal reverie in search of lost sleep, is the beauty of the writing…

Find out more »

December 2018

The Readers’ Salon

December 3 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Golden Hare Books, 68 St Stephen Street
Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH3 5AQ United Kingdom
+ Google Map

Want to engage more with your own reading and to share favourites with like-minded readers? Love the idea of a book group but don’t like being assigned a particular book? Or do you just want more opportunities to talk books? Whatever the reason, we have just the group for you! Join us on the first Monday of every month as we chat all things bookish. It's free to come along and no booking is required - just turn up! We'll…

Find out more »

Perfumes and Pages: Literary perfumes with Alex Musgrave

December 5 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Golden Hare Books, 68 St Stephen Street
Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH3 5AQ United Kingdom
+ Google Map
£5 33 tickets left

Come along to Golden Hare Books for a festive evening of perfumes and pages! Listen to perfume expert Alex Musgrave talk through his favourite literary perfumes, and the books which inspired them. There will be an opportunity to smell the perfumes, and to buy the books which inspired them, as well as a range of beautiful books about scent. This is the perfect event to get you into the festive spirit - so come along for a glamorous evening of…

Find out more »
+ Export Events