Hag-Seed by Margaret Atwood


William Shakespeare’s The Tempest retold

Felix is at the top of his game as Artistic Director of the Makeshiweg Theatre Festival. His productions have amazed and confounded. Now he’s staging a Tempest like no other. It will boost his reputation. It will heal emotional wounds. Or that was the plan.

Instead, after an act of unforeseen treachery, Felix is living in exile in a backwoods hovel, haunted by memories of his beloved lost daughter, Miranda. Also brewing revenge. After twelve years, revenge finally arrives in the shape of a theatre course at a nearby prison.

Here, Felix and his inmate actors will put on his Tempest and snare the traitors who destroyed him. It’s magic! But will it remake Felix as his enemies fall?

Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist


Longlisted for the Baileys Prize 2017

The Hogarth Shakespeare Series sees Shakespeare’s works retold by acclaimed and bestselling novelists of today. Other titles in the series are: The Gap of Time, Shylock is My Name, Vinegar Girl, Hag SeedNew Boy and Dunbar by Edward St. Aubyn.


Additional information

Dimensions 19.6 × 13 cm





320 pages



Our Booksellers Say...

"Margaret Atwood is one of my favourite writers and The Tempest is my favourite Shakespeare play
this was a match made in heaven! You can tell how much Atwood loved the play and had fun with it, but did something completely original too.." — Julie


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Hag-Seed by Margaret Atwood”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.