Scales of Injustice – The Complete Fiction of Loa Ho


Scales of Injustice is a collection of Loa Ho’s twenty-one short stories on various kinds of unfairness experienced by many Taiwanese people during Japanese rule. Unlike other translated versions that arrange the stories chronologically according to when they were written, this edition is discreetly sectioned by the translator Darryl Sterk into six parts, namely “In the Olden Days”, “Old Meets New”, “Growing Cane, Eating Opium”, “(Resisting) the Police Lord”, “Loa Ho’s Story”, and “It’s All We Can Ever Do”. The order of these parts show progress, from stories set in an older period and a rather rustic setting, to a more modern age in bigger cities; concurrently, the presence of oppressive forces become increasingly pervasive.

3 in stock

Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist

SKU: 9781999791223 Categories: ,


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Scales of Injustice – The Complete Fiction of Loa Ho”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.